Malaspina is a provincially incoroprated society and a registered Canadian charity, founded in 1975 by a group of printmaking students, fellows, and instructors from the Vancouver School of Art (now the Emily Carr University of Art + Design). Their objective was to secure federal funding for an international printmaking exhibition. In the past 40 years, Malaspina has developed into a support organization for print culture by building strong relationships with artists, organizations, and cultural practitioners throughout the world. Its programs have been expanded beyond exhibitions to include studio rentals, workshops, mentorships, archives, residencies, and sales. Malaspina has been situated in a 2,500 square foot facility on Granville Island since 1981.


Malaspina is a nonprofit artist-run centre that advances education, promotes excellence in the art form, and increases the public’s understanding and appreciation of contemporary art and print media.


Malaspina will be recognized as an outstanding print resource centre in Canada, an active participant in the global contemporary art community, and a respected advocate of the role of the arts within culture.


Malaspina supports and promotes the contemporary visual arts through the critical and technical exploration of print media. Through the excellence of our facilities and programming, we create a vibrant, productive, and sustainable community of artists and art enthusiasts.


These values guide Malaspina’s board and staff in performing their work:

  • Passion for print media
  • Courage in artistic programming
  • Variety of artistic practices
  • Diversity in community involvement
  • Accountability to our stakeholders

employees, contractors, volunteers  

Justin Muir, Executive Director
Nigel Cornwall, Studio Technician
Ben Duncan, Studio Technician
Sarah Ellis Clark, Studio Technician
Val Loewen, Studio Technician
Lee McKay, Studio Technician
Dan Starling, Studio Technician
Hei Lam Ng, Archive Assistant
Jocelyn Barrable Segal, Gallery Attendant
Shanna Cheng, Gallery Attendant
Jack Lloyd, Gallery Attendant
Tylor Macmillan, Gallery Attendant
Felipe Morelli, Gallery Attendant
Clarie Newton, Gallery Attendant
Maya Schueller-Elmes, Gallery Attendant
Leanne Tong, Gallery Attendant
Blake Wallace, Gallery Attendant
Heather Aston, Instructor
Carli Boisjolie, Instructor
Saskia Jetten, Instructor
Richard Tetrault, Instructor 

directors, officers  

Erin Marranca, President 
Heather Stack, Vice President    
Stephane Bernard, Secretary 
Alex Cu Unjieng, Treasurer    
Barb Choit, Director
Nick Conbere, Director
Pippa Lattey, Director
Theo Lloyd, Director
Ruth Major, Director   
Sterling Nelson, Director